top of page

The Rook!

  • The rooks begin on the a1 and h1 squares for white, and a8 and h8 squares for black (if you don't know what this means, then go the the Chess Notation page)

  • The rook can move forward, backward, left or right at any time

  • The rook piece can move anywhere from 1 to 7 squares in any of those four directions, so long as it is not blocked by any other piece

Rook chess piece.webp

The Rook

Move to ---> The Queen


Back to ---> The Knight

Back to ---> Beginner Basics

bottom of page